Annotation:Castle Campbell

Find traditional instrumental music

Back to Castle Campbell

X:1 T:Castle Campbell M:C| L:1/8 R:Reel S:Gow - 4th Repository (1817) Z:AK/Fiddler's Companion K:C f|ec c2 Gc c2|ECGE cGEC|fd (d>^c/4d/4) Ad (d>^c/4d/4)|FDAF dAFD| ec c2 Gc c2|ECGE cGEC|egec dfdB|cCEG c2C|| f|e>g (g>^f/4g/4) c>g (g>^f/4g/4)|ecfd gece|fa a2 da a2|fdge afdf| eg (g>^f/4g/4) c>g (g>^f/4g/4)|ecfd gecf|egec dgdB|cCEG c2C||

CASTLE CAMPBELL. Scottish, Reel. C Major. Standard tuning (fiddle). AB. The tower house of Castle Campbell, in Argyll, dates to the late 15th century. Originally called Castle Gloom, the name was changed in 1489 to Castle Campbell, and a few years later, around 1500, the structure was enlarged. It was burned in 1654, after which the castle ceased to be used as a residence, but the remains of the structure are today a picturesque ruin. In 1948 Castle Campbell was received by Historic Scotland, which maintains the property.

Additional notes

Source for notated version: -

Printed sources : - Gow (Complete Repository, Part 4), 1817; p. 33.

Recorded sources: -

Back to Castle Campbell