Barronstown Races (The)
X:1 T:Barronstown Races, The M:6/8 L:1/8 R:Jig S:O'Neill - Dance Music of Ireland: 1001 Gems (1907), No. 248 Z:AK/Fiddler's Companion K:G F|DGG GFG|BGc BAF|DFE FEF|A2d cAF| DGA GFG|BAG Bcd|fed cAF|AGG G2:| |:d|dgg gfg|abg fed|cBc fef|abg fed| dgg gdc|BAG Bcd|fed cAF|AGG G2:| |:F|DGA BAG|d/c/Bd cAG|FGA cAF|c/B/Ac BAF| GFG BAB|cBc dbg|fed cAF|AGG G2:| |:d|gdg gbg|fdf f/g/af|ede e/f/ge|dBG GAc| BAB cBc|dcd eag|fed cAF|GGG G2:||
BARRONSTOWN RACES, THE (Coimleanga Baile-Barroin). Irish, Double Jig. G Major. Standard tuning (fiddle). AABBCCDD. The first meeting of the Tipperary races was at Barronstown Course in March, 1848. These races were abandoned in 1871/72 due to an outbreak of smallpox, but were revived in 1881. The first race meeting on the present site of Limerick Junction was in September, 1916, and subsequently the name of the course was changed from Limerick Junction to Tipperary in 1986.
Printed sources: O'Neill (Krassen), 1976; p. 59. O'Neill (Music of Ireland: 1850 Melodies), 1903/1979; No. 1038, p. 194. O'Neill (Dance Music of Ireland: 1001 Gems), 1907/1986; No. 248, p. 55.