This page documents a Traditional Tune Archive behavioral guideline. It is a generally accepted standard that editors should attempt to follow, though it is best treated with common sense, and occasional exceptions may apply. Any substantive edit to this page should reflect consensus. When in doubt, discuss first on the talk page.
This page in a nutshell: Courtesy vanishing means any user in good standing—upon leaving The Traditional Tune Archive forever—may request renaming of their account; deletion or blanking of user pages; and possibly the deletion or blanking of discussions related to his or her conduct. This courtesy vanishing does not include the deletion of user contributions, and normally does not include the deletion of user talk pages.
The usual way to leave The Traditional Tune Archive is simply to stop editing and abandon your account. A courtesy vanishing may be implemented when a user in good standing decides not to return, and for whatever reason wishes to make their contributions harder to find or to remove their association with their edits. When there is no administrative need to retain the information, a permanently departing user may request that a wide range of user pages, and other pages that affect him or her alone, be deleted on departure. The user account is renamed; user pages are blanked or deleted; and pages related to the user's conduct may be deleted, blanked, or moved. Contributions, logs, signatures, and user-page templates (for example, templates related to blocks or bans) are usually not removed. User talk pages are usually not deleted.
Courtesy vanishing is discretionary and may be refused. It is not intended to be temporary. It is not a way to avoid scrutiny or sanctions. It is not a fresh start and does not guarantee anonymity. Any of the deleted pages may be undeleted after a community discussion. If the user returns, the "vanishing" will likely be fully reversed, the old and new accounts will be linked, and any outstanding sanctions or restrictions will be resumed.
Due to all contributions being licensed under the CC BY-SA 3.0 License and the GFDL, it is not possible to delete an account.
Vanishing from The Traditional Tune Archive
First, consider whether you really want to vanish, or whether a simple retirement or clean start might be more appropriate. Vanishing is a last resort and should only be used when you wish to stop editing forever and also to hide as many of your past associations as possible.
If you decide to vanish, you may wish to blank or delete your user page and any subpages in your userspace. To request deletion, add the
tag to the top of each page, and an admin will delete the page for you. Or you can replace your userpage with the
template. Note that your user talk pages will normally not be deleted except in rare cases (see below).
If you wish to take advantage of courtesy vanishing, you can use one of the following methods to make your request:
- The best way is to visit Special:GlobalRenameRequest to access the rename request interface. Requests made this way will be processed by global renamers or stewards. Please specify "request to vanish" in the reason field; your requested username should be of the form "Renamed user nnnnnnnnnn" replacing n with random characters.
- If your request is particularly sensitive, you may contact the stewards via e-mail and ask that your account be renamed, giving "request for courtesy vanishing" as the subject. Please use the contact interface at meta:Special:EmailUser/Wikimedia Global-renamers or email email@example.com. If you send the mail directly, please include some kind of proof that the account is indeed yours. Please be aware a record is kept in the OTRS system that can be seen by anyone with access to the renamers email queue. This is restricted to current renamers, stewards and Wikimedia Foundation staff.
There is a public request page for name change requests, but this is not recommended because it will leave a public record of your request to vanish that cannot itself be hidden.
If you have questions about vanishing, or have concerns that might be addressable by a less permanent method, you may want to contact a Functionary or a member of the Arbitration Committee for advice.
What vanishing is not
- Vanishing is not a way to start over with a fresh account. When you request a courtesy vanishing, it is understood that you will not be returning. If you want to start over, please follow the directions at Clean start instead of (not in addition to) this page. If you make a request to vanish, and then start over with a new account, and are then discovered, the vanishing procedure may be reversed, and your old and new accounts may be linked.
- Vanishing is not a way to avoid criticism, sanctions, or other negative attention, unless you really mean to leave permanently. As such, it might not be extended to users who have been disruptive, who leave when they lose the trust of the community, or when they are blocked or banned.
- It is not a way for accounts affiliated with organizations or interests opposed to the Traditional Tune Archive community to erase documentation that they edited The Traditional Tune Archive. This could happen when an account associated with a business, for example, is criticized on their userpage for the way they edited The Traditional Tune Archive.
- Vanishing is not the best way to remove personal information that you may have accidentally revealed about yourself, especially if you want to continue editing. See the page on Oversight instead.
- If you want to change your username, users in good standing are free to request a change of username at any time. All contributions made under the old username will be re-attributed to the new username, including deleted contributions, preserving the edit history. (Old signatures embedded in past posts cannot be changed due to technical limitations of the MediaWiki software, although in some cases collapsing or blanking is possible.)
Deletion of user talk pages
While user pages and subpages may be deleted, the deletion of established users' talk pages is invariably controversial, and is the rare exception, not the rule. This is because user talk pages, unlike other user pages, have largely been written by other editors. User talk pages should not be speedy deleted by admins. Users who wish to delete user talk pages should consult a Functionary or the Arbitration Committee. Community consensus is that user talk pages should be deleted only where there is a compelling reason to do so—related to serious privacy concerns and the potential for real-world harm. Otherwise, user talk pages should be deleted only at MfD. Any deletion can be challenged and overturned at deletion review. User talk pages should never be moved to become user subpages to facilitate deletion.